Team

Kyle Shaw
Kyle is the editor of The Coast. He was a founding member of the newspaper in 1993 and was the paper’s first Publisher. Kyle also teaches magazine writing at the University of King’s College School of Journalism.
editor@thecoast.ca

Lyndsay Armstrong
Lyndsay is a city reporter covering all things Halifax, health and COVID-19. She is a data journalist who has covered provincial politics for allNovaScotia.com and represented Nova Scotia in a national investigation into lead in drinking water with the Toronto Star and Global.
@lynds_armstrong
news@thecoast.ca

Caora McKenna
On a work sabbatical until September 2021. Caora is the City Editor at The Coast, where she writes about everything from city hall to police and housing issues. She’s been with The Coast since 2017, when she began as the publication’s Copy Editor.
@Caora_mck
news@thecoast.ca

Victoria Walton
Victoria is a reporter with The Coast since April 2020, covering COVID news and small business. Victoria previously worked at NEWS 95.7 and HalifaxToday, and did a quick stint in the film industry after graduating from the University of King’s College School of Journalism in 2017.
@victorialwalton
victoria@thecoast.ca

Morgan Mullin
Morgan is the Arts & Entertainment Editor at The Coast, where she writes about everything from what to see and do around Halifax to profiles of the city’s creative class to larger cultural pieces. She’s been with The Coast since 2016.
@WellFedWanderer
arts@thecoast.ca

Oriol Salvador
Oriol is the social media manager for The Coast. He is a journalist from Barcelona, Spain who has been living in Halifax since July 2019. Oriol is interested in everything, from pop culture, arts and entertainment to politics and social issues. He oversees the social media strategy and the daily newsletter.
@oriolsalvador
oriol@thecoast.ca

Chris Stoodley
Chris is a reporter at The Coast covering everything from social issues to city matters that affect Halifax. He's also a photographer and freelance writer, and his work can be found in Paper Magazine, VICE and This Magazine.
@chrisstoodley_
chris@thecoast.ca

Haley Clarke
Haley is a sales and events rep, where she works with The Coast’s clients and local small businesses to spread their message to readers and to execute community events like Halifax Burger Week.
haley@thecoast.ca

Christa Harrie
Christa has worked with The Coast for the last 25 years executing marketing and sales campaigns for thousands of national, local and small businesses. Previously she worked with Cineplex and CCL.
christah@thecoast.ca

Pam Nicoll
Pam is the Production and Graphics producer for The Coast. A proud alumnus of the graphic design program at Nova Scotia Community College, she joined The Coast in 2017 as an intern. Before returning to school she worked in the automotive industry.
pamn@thecoast.ca

Kyla Derry
Kyla works at The Coast’s front desk and manages the Ticket Halifax box office. She joined The Coast in 2015 as an intern and has been part of the team ever since. She has recently completed the Interpersonal Communication Course with Dalhousie University College of Continuing Education.
frontdesk@thecoast.ca

Lindsay Cory
Lindsay has worked with The Coast in different capacities since 2016. With roles in events, promotions and tickets she works to grow and expand the community, reach, and reputation of The Coast as essential media for Kjipuktuk/Halifax.
lindsayc@thecoast.ca

Christine Oreskovich
Christine is the Publisher and owner of The Coast. She was one of the founding members of the newspaper in 1993 and has spent her whole career publishing for a Halifax readership. Christine is responsible for the business strategy, community engagement and overall publication sustainability.
@Oreskovich
christineo@thecoast.ca

STUDENT REPORTERS

Gabrielle Drolet
Gabrielle is a writer and cartoonist based in Wolfville. Her work, which focuses on health and culture, has appeared in The Walrus, The New York Times, The New Yorker, and more.
gabrielle@thecoast.ca

Raeesa Alibhai
Raeesa is a second year student at the University of King's College Journalism School.
raeesa@thecoast.ca

Get more Halifax

Our Thursday email gets you caught up with The Coast. Sign up and go deep on Halifax.